Basic Brass Etching Techniques and Tutorial

brass etching

Etched Brass Pieces on Sarjeant & Co on Etsy

How about an etching tutorial?

These etched pieces are for sale in my store Sarjeant & Co. with the exception of the corset. I sold out of the corset and will probably not make anymore (okay that’s a lie, I have ONE more but it’s not for sale).

Anyway, here’s some basic information on how to get started in etching. This is my own ‘self taught’ way of etching–I am not an expert. There are many ways to etch. I will show you my way. I have only etched brass.

I use an ‘etching’ tank. I made this tank with household items I picked up at Wal-Mart.

etching tank

Etching Tank by Sarjeant & Co.

Etching Tank Supplies:

Plastic Container with vacuum lid (I couldn’t find a picture but I got it at Wal-Mart)
Cheap aquarium pump with tubing
Acrylic 8 x 10″ sheet available at Lowes (used for picture frames)
Hot Glue gun
Bic Pen (old school kind, you will take out inside and use outside)

Use your dremel or flex shaft and cutting disc and cut a hole on the side just below the lid so the tubing fits in even with lid closed. Take the acrylic sheet and hot glue it to the bottom of the container this makes it stable so it doesn’t topple over.

Attach tubing to pump, I then hot glued pump to the tank. Next, You need to drill holes in the clear plastic bic pen sheath. Hot glue the clear pen sheath to the tubing. Take the entire contraption (the bic end with the holes) and hot glue REALLY WELL to the inside bottom of the tank.

Basically, when you plug in the aquarium pump all the chemicals will bubble from the holes in the drilled bic pen sheath. This makes the etching work quicker and circulates the chemicals for a cleaner etch. Heat also helps, I tried an aquarium heater –don’t waste your money. By the time it heats up you will be done. It works fine without heat.

This is the hardest part of the entire process. Finding the FERRIC CHLORIDE!!!!! Apparently Radio Shack used to sell it but guess what–NOT ANYMORE! I tried Fry’s and they had it one time about a year ago. But that was the last time I found it. I had good luck with a little Mom and Pop Electronic Store about 20 miles from my house. I bought 4 bottles, all they had. You can order the ferric chloride online but the shipping prices are crazy expensive! I suggest you go find a store near you and buy all they have before someone else does.

I know there are ways to etch with muriatic acid but it seems way to dangerous for my taste. I just take the ferric chloride and dump it into the plastic tank, about 3/4 of the way up. Make sure to use gloves when handling Ferric Chloride, it will stain anything and everything you come in contact with including your hands! Ugly, ugly.

Use some Staz-on and a rubber stamp and stamp an image on some clean, scrubbed brass. I think stamping is the easiest ‘resist’ to use. You can draw an image, or iron on with pNp (never works for me). I think stamps are the easiest to work with. When you are done take a sharpie and cover all the edges completely. Remember anything that is not covered with some kind of resist will be etched. Take simple packing tape and completely cover the back.

You will need another container of white vinegar to neutralize the etched brass when you take it out of the ferric chloride. Make sure the area you work in is protected–like I said the stuff stains.

Now’s a good time for my disclaimer:
*Be smart–wear gloves, use in a properly ventilated area, read all directions, dispose of chemicals properly, etc., etc.

Okay so you got your tank ready and built, your container of white vinegar ready, you have cleaned your brass, stamped it with something cool, used sharpie around the edges, taped up the back completely with clear packing tape.

It’s time to etch———–yeah!

Take a couple of pieces of masking tape, tape the ends to the brass –then lower it into the tank and tape the other end over the side of the tank (sorry I will take more pictures next time–it’s that darn attention span of mine).

Set the timer for about 20- 30 minutes–plug in the aquarium pump and let it rip!  You will have to just pull it out of the tank periodically and check the etch, if you like it then take it out and put in into the vinegar bath to neutralize.  Then into soap and water and clean well with a brush.

I usually need to shine up my stuff with a little steel wool and then coat with Renaissance Wax–my favorite sealing type agent.   That’s all folks!  I hope I didn’t confuse you too much.   Until next time………………

Leave a comment

Filed under Tutorial

Leave a comment